The Odin Project

After hearing much buzz about The Odin Project, I decided to check it out. Part of my personal learning while I’m here at Harvard is to build skills that will make me more hirable. I’m still exploring possible career paths but generally, most of the things I’m interested require a better understanding and familiarity with the technical side of things.

The Odin Project is a free self-paced course on web development. This is from their site and explains their project:

Screen Shot 2014-11-17 at 8.31.11 PM

I think that’s a pretty cool concept. I don’t know exactly how many people are using this site, but I think it has the potential to be a massive space.

Screen Shot 2014-11-17 at 8.39.38 PM

While not all the lesson pages have user discussions, I think it’s great that on the ones that do, there’s interactions and exchanges between users. I also think it’s great that the site has a section on forming in-person study groups and providing resources to connect with other learners. I think it helps address the issue of isolation when learning something on your own. It’s nice to be able to interact with others.

I’ve only explored the first section, but here’s what I like:

  • Simple design – everything flows really well
  • The information is categorized in a logical manner with learning goals for each section
  • Built in user comments/discussions
  • Validation on progress

I really love this progress bar. As you go through each page, the circles fill up and you see the percentage of content you’ve finished looking at.

Screen Shot 2014-11-17 at 8.34.34 PM

I also really like that you get to “check” each lesson as you complete it.

Screen Shot 2014-11-17 at 8.37.10 PM

Screen Shot 2014-11-17 at 8.35.57 PM

I’m a huge fan of the design and overall information layout.

Has anyone else tried this out?

3 thoughts on “The Odin Project

    • Actually, the Odin Project uses pretty much all of Codecademy’s courses in its own. It’s like a patchwork of links sewn together with some lessons. I’ve been working on Odin Project for a bit now, but sometimes I end up doing Codecademy for such a stretch that I forgot all about the course that brought me there. What is awesome about it, though, is that it suppliments the material and fills in any gaps you might not have known were there. I love it. I’m on the Javascript basics of the second course still, but I’ve already learned enough to get a domain and create an actual webpage.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

