Apple Picking

On Saturday, Sarah and I went on a apple picking trip organized by the Office of Student Affairs. We went to the Honey Pot Hill Orchards in Stow, MA. I’m glad I went, as I was originally contemplating not going when I woke up and saw it was pouring outside. Although it was still cold, the rain eventually stopped.

Admission is based on the bag/amount of apples you’d like to pick. It’s $16 for a medium sized bag, and $25 for a large sized bag. Apparently, the medium sized bag is enough for 2 people, and the large sized bag is enough for 5 people. The medium sized bag was still a lot of apples, so we ended up splitting the cost of one bag between three of us and then dividing the apples at the end.

There was also a pumpkin patch and a little farm house with a bakery. I wish they had some savory food, though, as eating apple cider donuts and apples for lunch in addition to drinking apple cider was a bit too sugary for even me. You could also buy various spreads and preserves at the farm house. I ended up buying some apple butter, which I had never tried before. It’s pretty tasty!

We also went on a hay ride and in retrospect, I don’t think it was worth the $2. We spent a long time waiting for it in the cold, and then we realized we could have just walked to the farm house in 5 minutes. I mean, I guess now I could say I’ve been on a hay ride.

Regardless, I still enjoyed the trip. The trees are starting to change colors, and it’s so pretty. I know California has fall, too, but the colors aren’t as vibrant or dramatic as they are here. I was seriously so happy being surrounded by all these pretty trees. I also didn’t realize just how many different varieties of apples there were. There were so many I hadn’t even heard of before.

(On a side note, I am seriously digging the camera on my new iPhone 6. It is a serious upgrade from my iPhone 4 – thanks David! I have a Canon PowerShot SX260 HS, but I’m finding my phone’s camera to be just as good, if not slightly better, than my digital camera. It’s also convenient that I don’t have to connect my phone to my computer – I can transfer all my pictures through iCloud. )

Leave a Reply

